Screaming in Sweden


Lucy and Earl
November 25, 2008, 11:46 pm
Filed under: Food, Love, Sweden | Tags: , , ,

I love baking but it just takes too much time. Last Sunday, my friends Oliver and Emelie were visiting so I decided to bake lussekatter. Lussekatter are Swedish saffron flavored buns. It’s the thing you eat in December while anticipating for Christmas. Lusse comes from Saint Lucia and Katter means cats. Not sure why cats.

So here I am rolling the dough in a shape of a cat’s tail (perhaps that explains the cats bit).

 

and here I am trying to form a heart but it ends up looking like a cute little fetus. Reminds me of Alien.

 

The traditional shape looks like the letter S but I like my saffron buns in many twisted varieties. I think they taste better like that. I also put an extra raisin on each and every bun. I like raisins.

 

This one looks like a teddy bear or a puppy who lost its ears.

 

The Swedes like their lussekatter with a glass of milk. Perhaps with a piece of gingersnap too. I like my buns simply with a cup of hot tea.

 

Perfect winter breakfast.

*winks*

 

hi Ai, this update is for you *winks winks*
you need:
1 gram saffron
0.5 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon non-flavoured spirits (such as vodka)
50 gram yeast
175 gram butter
5 deciliter milk
1.5 deciliter syrup/sugar
1 egg
ca 1 kilogram flour
unit converter 
– soak saffron in spirit (leave for 30 mins).
– crumble yeast into large mixing bowl.
– melt butter, add milk, saffron-spirit and syrup.
– cool it down to room temperature.
– add beaten egg.
– pour mixture on yeast.
– stir.
– add flour.
– knead dough.
– cover dough with towel.
– leave for 30 minutes.
– form dough into shapes you like. *w*
– cover dough and leave for 30 minutes.
– preheat oven to 225°
– brush bun with beaten egg.
– ADD RAISINS!
– bake until golden (7-8 minutes if small ones like mine).
good luck!! 
10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

cute lah. both the lussekatter and the cup.
have a great winter! :)

Comment by Nanie

Nanie – Thank you! We love cute stuff! and Thanks you too, but me dont like winter… lussekatter and drinking tea are a must nowadays.

Comment by lingon

hi lingon, i am curious with the recipe of that bun. hmm..looks yummy and my little girl iza said it’s teddy mum! yay!

enjoy winter though

Comment by Ai

Ai – That’s really cute. I’ve updated the post with the recipe I used… I hope it works for you too! :)

Comment by lingon

hi lingon, tks for the recipe. Ill try to bake this one of these days. take care!

Comment by Ai

now, my problem is where to find saffron here in poland.It is szafran in polish. i heard that it’s and expensive spice but when i asked my mom-in-law here she said, we can buy it here and it is not that expensive. So i am happy coz i could try this out hopefully.

Comment by Ai

I found another blog posting recipes for lussekatter too ;) Oh and I tagged you in my blog. Hope you don’t mind.

Nanie xx

Comment by ohhstars

hey thanx! hugs.

Comment by lingon

Looks nice! Especially the puppy-bread. Just wanted to tell you (sorry, once a teacher…) that “Lusse” in Lussekatt actually comes from Lusifer. So what you are having is devil-cats. I would guess that 85% agree with the idea that is stands for Lucia. :)

Comment by Tobias Eltebrandt

tobias – that is interesting! DEVIL CATS! how cool is that. thanxx for the enlightenment ;)

Comment by lingon




Leave a Reply

