Screaming in Sweden


Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
November 6, 2008, 5:23 pm
Filed under: Life, Love | Tags: , ,

Mark Base inspires me to blog today. I think he has a good point there. People in Helsingborg need to blog more.

(by the way, I saw Mark Base on a PowerPoint slide two days ago. Doing a move from the teapot dance I guess. It’s kinda odd but cool.)

*winks*

Helsingborg is a windy city. It’s horrible. Although I only have 3 songs to get to work every day.

It’s business as usual at work except that we have an English lady visiting this week. Her name is Sarah. It is not the first time I see an English lady at work since we also have an English lady working as receptionist since ages. Her name is Helen.

I’ve always thought Helen is a bit of a Mary Poppins type of lady. She cleans up after you, she sends your clean lunch box to your desk, she chats just about everything and to everyone who passes the front desk, she is jolly, she has a mug with red double decker bus on it, she complains about the English weather sometimes, and she carries an umbrella (or at least I wish she did).

Sarah’s been visiting for 2 days now. The thing is, I can’t help it but wondering how an English lady is like in England. You see I thought Sarah also reminds me of a Mary Poppins type of lady. She chats just about everything and to everyone who barely knows her, she is jolly although I find out today that she has got a terrible headache for the past 2 weeks, she is funny, she loves beer, she complains about the English weather, and she carries an umbrella (or I really wish she did).

I have never been to England. Besides typical English images like red telephone booths, footballs, Gentlemen, double decker buses, rainy days, David Beckham, pubs and so on…

I think England would feel a bit like this:

Mary Poppins

mary

Teapots

teapot

Dark gray days

darksky

Breakfast for champions

beer

Knits

knits

blokes

bloke

and jolly ladies with hat

jolly

I don’t like nannies in general but Mary Poppins is cool. Umbrellas are cool, too.

By the way, Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious means roughly “Atoning for educability through delicate beauty” and “what you say when you don’t know what to say” according to wiki.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The lady holding the umbrella looks like you (from the back) :)

Comment by LP

LP – you are right, she does lol thanks for reading ;)

Comment by lingon

Hey! Where did you see that PowerPoint slide!? How bizarre!

Comment by Mark Base

hehe yeah it’s really bizarre but i’m not telling :p

Comment by lingon




Leave a Reply

