Screaming in Sweden


That crazy little screaming char boh and upside-down glasses
April 1, 2008, 9:17 pm
Filed under: Books, General, Obssession | Tags: , , , , ,

I have done some thinking today. I think about what people think of me. I think about what the most important people in my life think of me. I think about what I think of myself. Then I think about what I think of them and other people. And then I think of the question that Veronika once asked. And I mean the Veronika who decides to die which is one of my favorite books in the whole wide world of course.

What does it mean to be crazy?

You see I am not quite sure why but my doctor says I suffer from hypotension. And she smiles and starts talking about the nice sunny weather. And then people at work think I always yawn. They also think I should sleep early “tonight”. Some people think I laugh too much, I scream too much, I nag too much.

My dad used to call me siao char boh which means crazy woman and slow motion because he thought I had a slowish walk. He still does at times when he gets the chance. My mom used to call me siao char boh and siao lingyi. My beloved grandmother call me siao lang which means crazy person. I guess she uses a gender neutral term because it is more convenient that way. My friends in KL call me sor poh, which basically means the same thing as siao char boh but in Cantonese.

And it doesn’t end there.

He thinks I am nuts because I have my own house rules like when He puts the drinking glasses and mugs upside down after cleaning them I must turn them over again because it makes me anxious if I don’t. I don’t like the thought of the rims coming into contact with the kitchen sink.

He also call me gul which means yellow, screaming little chinese, screaming little mongo, lingovic, lingon, crazy little party girl, regeringen which means the government, tjockis kinesen i Örebro which means the chubby chinese in Örebro (He wrote a song about it), crazy little yellow person, and et cetera.


What does it mean to be crazy?

If I am crazy then I must be living. And happy. At least that is what Paulo thinks.

I know what drives me crazy. The drinking glasses turned wrong side up in the kitchen. And Him not closing the door properly on His way out.

*pulls hair out*

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

oh your like me, i don’t like it too when the rim of the glass get in contact with the kitchen furniture or anything like that. i see to it it’s clean and shiny. so i’m crazy too. heheh!

i love paulo coelho’s books… eleven minutes is one of the best too.

Comment by Ai

Ai – feels so much better now! puh! yeah i’m sure i’ll read that one when i’m done with the one i’m reading now! :)

Comment by lingon

Seriously. All drinking glasses should be right side up! I had to instruct my boy last night as he was putting away the wine glasses.

Comment by dish

arghhh… u have another sor poh here! mom is the stubborn one in my case!

Comment by kityeng

dish – LOL me too. but at least mine seems to be learning every day hehe

kityeng – u too? LOL gosh! mom can be difficult.

Comment by lingon

[…] That crazy little screaming char boh and upside-down glasses […]

Pingback by Book Mark Haddon tonight « Screaming in Sweden

[…] i love it so much i can watch it again and again and it will make me so happy. it’s a little nutty… offbeat kinda humor… a bit alice in the wonderland and it sort of reminds me of the book – veronica decides to die. […]

Pingback by i’m a cyborg, but that’s ok « Screaming in Sweden

Corning made wine glasses seem to be the best! they are tough and have great designs “

Comment by Calcium Ascorbate :

some wine glasses break easily so now i always buy wine glasses that are quite thick_

Comment by Gate Latch ·

those thick and heavy borosilicate wine glasses are the best but they are very expensive :.’ ,;-

Comment by Candy Paint




Leave a Reply

