Screaming in Sweden


Please take me to your world of make-believe
February 29, 2008, 12:39 am
Filed under: Books, Life | Tags: ,

I remember the day when Mom came into my room sobbing uncontrollably. She put her arms around me and whispered in my ear, “Er ee has passed away”.

Er ee was one of Mom’s four sisters. I was very young then, a little girl who did not understand death, but somehow I knew something was very wrong. I remember Er ee had very beautiful long dark hair and was always nice to me. I don’t remember more than that.

I am not sure why I think of her today.

So anyway I spent the evening flipping through a book and a magazine I bought two days ago.

The book, Köp! Folkhemmets reklam by Jan Cederquist and Joel Stolpe Montan, is such a great source of inspiration if you like the same stuff as I do.

*w*

It is basically a collection of selected Swedish ads published in the 1940s, 50s and 60s. Very cool. I can look at the ads for ages until I get sick of them.

This one makes you wanna have big hair like hers…

An ad from 1947: i maskulin smak means ‘with masculine taste’ (I think!)

This ad is from 1969. And it says in the last paragraph … den korta goda cigarretten som ger er råd att dricka mera öl, which means something like, ‘the good ol’ short cigarrettes that leaves you more money to drink more beer’.

*s*

Warner’s Sta Up Top from 1949.

*w*

And then I also read the prettiest magazine in the whole wide world.

Lula. Girl of my dreams.

It makes me wanna live in their little world of make-believe.

I just love.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i love old advert of those genres and i want those long thicl lashes (so ambitious of me).lol

Comment by Ai

Oh, yeah! They are exceptional and we don’t get to see ads so refined in taste anymore.

Comment by phaiksee




Leave a Reply

