Screaming in Sweden


Final moments in Sweden
January 28, 2008, 8:25 pm
Filed under: Life, Shopping | Tags: , , , ,

It’s Chinese New Year next week and I’m going home. I’m leaving soon… in about 10 hours to be exact. The last time I was home was about two and a half years ago. That’s a long time. I have been feeling really nervous lately about this whole thing so I have spent some money on a pair of Daisy Duck‘s shoes during my final moments in Sweden.

daisyd.png

I think it’s okay to spend on pretty things when you’re feeling a little edgy. *w*

Come to think of it, perhaps they look more like Grandma Duck’s shoes.

grandma.png

My Grandma Duck’s shoes… we are totally in love with each other. They fit just like a pair of Converse. At least I would imagine so, as I have never owned a pair of Converse in my life.

My Grandma Duck’s shoes would fit perfectly well on CNY. Just so I’d look taller than most of the clan *w*. And so that we would have something else to talk about rather than the usual:

“So, when are you getting married?”

“What do your parents think about you moving so far away?”

“You live together?! You’re not married, are you?”

“Are you moving back to KL someday?”

or remarks like:

“Oh, you’ve become so fat!”

“Wow, how do you become so fair?”

“You’ve put on some weight, huh? Happy living in Sweden?”

“You shouldn’t wear that dress. It makes you look fat.”

And when I hear those words, I’ll know I’m home. It’s no secret that the middle-class Malaysians are completely obsessed with appearance… (and status, and money, too).

It’s a little ironic because most of us rarely exercise, and we eat like nobody’s business. Especially on CNY… mmmm my Granny’s cooking is the best, alright.

My friend sent me a card today and it reminds me of home.
And my 8am flight. And my final moments in Sweden.

Love her *hugs*

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hello again Lingon,

Sounds like you are well on your way.
In our house we celebrate Japanese New Year on Jan 1. We eat all day and have many visitors.
I still enjoy your “Incredible Lightness of Being” attitude (by the way you would like the movie).
But underneath I sense some turmoil in the soul. I have written about our inner peace recently. I hope you will take a look at my Post tittled, “From whence comes my Help?” You might gain from reading it. You can find it at:
http://riggword.wordpress.com/2008/01/30/help/

God Bless and have fun with your family.
Robert

Comment by Rigg

By the way,

I love the shoes, good idea!
Robet

Comment by Rigg

Robert, thanxxx!!!

Which movie? I’d say, one’s gotta love and hate Malaysia. Ours is a bittersweet relationship ;)

I’ll take a look at the post now. *S*

Comment by lingon

The movie is titled, “The incredible Lightness of Being”. I think it was made in the 70s or 80s. Very touching light love and romance with some world events centering on Europe. It shows how ordinary people can fall in love no matter what is going on around them. It has a really good romantic relationship or two in the middle of economic problems and government suppression. The family scenes and the love they have for each other are great as well. And as in real life, you have some sad scenes. It is incredible light and makes you think at the same time. And it is more European than US in its texture. Check it out.

Have as much fun as you can while you are in Malaysia. Love your family and your friends.

God Bless,
Robert

Comment by Rob




Leave a Reply

