Screaming in Sweden


Fatty Tuesday and God of Prosperity
February 22, 2007, 8:49 pm
Filed under: General, Sweden | Tags: , ,

Life’s going a little crazy these days. So much to do, so little time.

semlor

Like when I talked myself into eating this thing called semla – a type of pastry with lots of whipped cream and almond paste. According to a local newspaper, more than 4 millions of semla (semlor to be exact since it’s plural *rolls eyes*) was consumed in Sweden this year. In just a day!

That was last Tuesday (fettisdag or fatty Tuesday *s*), which was supposed to mark the last day before Lent, or the day before Ash Wednesday. Gotta fill the tummy up with fat before fasting, I guess. Anyway, not a big fan. A little too Swedish for my taste heh.

*frowns*

That aside, last weekend, being a typical food-loving Malaysian, I dragged Him along to a Chinese restaurant located 60km away from where we live just because I got to decide on this happy day. And I mean Chinese New Year, of course.

*prancing around impersonating the lion dance*

hakaocheecheongfun

We had the total package: dimsum (Chinese breakfast), menu in Chinese (not that I read Chinese but it was cool), beer, and not forgetting the Chinese New Year’s God-of-Prosperity-song in the background.

*choy san dou choy san dou*

And I used to get real mad because my Mom would always pick a radio channel that plays CNY-songs on the 4-hour-drive from KL to Penang, my hometown.

Shoot me – but I downloaded that damn song at work the very first thing last Monday. Oh well.

feb-snö

At least I was happy on my way to work this morning. And it was more than 10cm of snow everywhere. This bloody picture doesn’t do no justice. One of the bloggers I read often has better photography skill, on foot. *winks*

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

