Screaming in Sweden


First take
June 22, 2005, 10:48 am
Filed under: General | Tags:

grand theory

Meet this band, Grand Theory. I know nuts about music… but this one has surely made a charming impression on me (not only because my sambo is the lead singer :twisted: ).

In merely five months, Grand Theory has produced the most colourful record I know. Their self-written debut album, titled ‘first take’ (as every song was recorded at first take in just six hours with loads of beer), unveiling some groovy songs which promise to take you unaware.

My favourite number has got to be Rendezvous, a real jazzy and funky tune with engaging melody that thrills me to bits. For a quick punk-rock treat, fast forward to Mabuk Cinta or ‘drunk in love’… this one sounds like it’s recorded live and you can almost hear the crowd cheering at the end of the song.

Next up is Consumerism, a sophisticated song with an earnest message from the vocalist, who wrote the song with a hint of irony. Then there’s this metallica-lised song, Without My Angel, which I love to bits particularly the intro.

I have played the album to many, and everyone loves this catchy, lively song – Kickback or what the band themselves call it, ‘the cowboy song’.

Too bad Grand Theory’s first take is not out in the market yet but soon I’ll put it up on the net for those who are drooling over ‘em already.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

